Skip to content

Thanksgiving on Salt Spring Island

October 25, 2009

This Thanksgiving was all about indulging in food, drink and friends on Salt Spring Island where I didn’t have to do any of the cooking!  I also didn’t feel the need to try to record Thanksgiving dinner through my lens.  Instead the evening was spent drinking, discussing, eating and laughing.

Our hosts were Danish so naturally we started with a lethal dose of Aquavit, a Danish aperitif with hints of dill and caraway, followed quickly with a good chaser of beer.  My kind of start!  The food was stunning.  Organic, free range Turkey from a farm down the road, gorgeous big creamy potatoes, squash, glazed carrots, stuffing topped with beautiful gravy and more Aquavit.  The aperitif turned digestif.  The night capped off with one of each pies; an apple and pumpkin pie.  A real memorable evening and one that I am truly thankful for.

So below are a collection of  images not from that evening but instead from the days spent roaming around with my ipod plugged into my ears capturing anything that caught my eye.  Oh, and if you’re looking for a place to stay when you go to Salt Spring Island then look no further than here….(a shameless plug! It’s my Mom’s b&b)

vintage-pearsfruit-&-vintage-cart

ssi-fall-leaves

ssi

chairs-&-peter-pan

side-table-with-rocks

art-&-driftwood

potted-herbs

ssi_2

arbutus

ssi-market

blackberry-picking

mouats-&-pub

mouats

treehouse-&-pumpkin

antique-bistro-set

newspapers-&-bench

crab-traps

barnacles

ssi-dock

ssi-fishmonger

boats

ssi-beach

ssi-litter-sign

beach-stairs-&-levaes

cobwebs-&-vista

ssi-artist

ssi-driftwood

ssi-pup

ssi-kids-boat

vesuvius-village

vesuvius-bay

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 3:55 pm

    I live so close and I haven’t visited Salt Spring Island yet. I should, looks beautiful.

  2. October 26, 2009 3:30 am

    Seeing those pictures on the B&B website, which must be made by you, makes me want to go on a break.

  3. November 1, 2009 6:50 am

    I’d love to see the world through your eyes.. I just love how you’ve made things from the boots, to the bell to the chair look so lovely. Just gorgeous!

  4. November 27, 2009 3:47 am

    Hi everybody, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Ville Platte I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

  5. February 9, 2011 12:56 pm

    Beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

